Home > uncategorized > In Normandy the greeters are mobilizing
   
On May 18, the Greeters du Havre mobilized with the Office Le Havre-Etretat Tourisme on the occasion of the visit to Le Havre of Michael Dodds, director of the Regional Tourism Committee and the Normandy Attractivity Agency. They took the opportunity to welcome six counterparts from Caen and the Orne department.
   

What is the tourism strategy for the Normandy region?

The theme of this meeting had everything to please the Greeters. Michael Dodds explained Normandy’s strategy to develop its reputation and development (tourism, economy, student) through the involvement of local Ambassadors and around the world. Invited to join this network of carriers of the good word, the Greeters present naturally signed.

The director of Normandy Attractiveness, of Anglo-Irish descent, a fervent Francophile, also unveiled the operation of the new free public application “Secrets normands”. Intended for visitors and lovers of our region, it allows everyone to reference their favourites and advice on sites, initiatives, events, tips, local producers, original walks… The objective is that a user can, thanks to geolocation, know at a glance all that he can experience the same day or in the next 24 hours. Everyone, Greeters or not, is invited to enrich this real secret trunk.

According to you, why do greeters grow in Normandy?

Normandy is a region open to the world where visitors are warmly welcomed.
The premises have a very good knowledge of the city, its history, development issues and future projects that will build the Normandy of tomorrow. They are proud of it and wish to share with others their attachment to the city.

What do they contribute to the tourist attractiveness of the territory?

Greeters are involved in the construction of the current tourist landscape. It is an added value. They meet the expectations of some travellers who, today, are in search of authenticity, of encounters with the locals. They promote the development of slow tourism, one of the foundations of which is the human relationship.
They are fine connoisseurs of our beautiful region, true ambassadors. That’s why we invite them to reveal their secrets on our Secrets Normands platform to share them with visitors. Secrets Normands is an innovative Internet stay that allows visitors geolocated in Normandy to discover all the tourist offers in real time as well as the Secrets: good tips, advice and recommendations proposed by the Normans. From now on, it is the greeters’ turn to add, online, the nuggets of their territories!

What role can greeter destinations play in the CRT strategy?

Secrets Normands is the ideal platform to share with our visitors. The objective of the Normandy Regional Tourism Committee is to mobilize the Normans around this project so that they can become full prescribers of tourism in the Region. It is therefore logical to invite greeters to take ownership of this unifying tool.
In its sustainable development approach, the CRT Normandie emphasizes a qualitative “slow tourism” rather than the promotion of a “mass tourism”, an approach to consumption that has been acclaimed by the new generations. Greeters therefore have a role to play in promoting Normandy’s tourist offer.

Michael Dodds

Michael Dodds is the new director of the Normandy Regional Tourism Committee (CRT).
Originally from across the Channel, Michael Dodds worked for several years as a consultant specialising in tourism. His last experience as a consultant was the realization of the regional tourism development plan for Normandy.
Michael Dodds is also the General Manager of the Normandy Attractiveness Agency, created on 23 June 2017.
After a lunch on the beach, the 15 Greeters from Le Havre accompanied Michael Dodds, his family and their colleagues from the Norman networks on a love at first sight through Le Havre.

Greeters in Normandy…

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Home > Tourisme durable > En Normandie les greeters se mobilisent
  
Le 18 mai, les Greeters du Havre se sont mobilisés avec l’Office Le Havre-Etretat Tourisme à l’occasion de la visite au Havre de Michael Dodds, directeur du Comité Régional de Tourisme et de l’Agence Normandie Attractivité. Ils ont profité de l’occasion pour accueillir six homologues de Caen et du département de l’Orne.
  

Quelle stratégie touristique pour la région Normandie ?

Le thème de cette rencontre avait tout pour plaire aux Greeters. Michael Dodds a en effet expliqué la stratégie de la Normandie pour développer sa notoriété et son développement (touristique, économique, étudiant) grâce à l’implication d’Ambassadeurs locaux et partout à travers le monde. Invités à rejoindre ce réseau de porteurs de la bonne parole, les Greeters présents ont naturellement signé.

Le directeur de Normandie Attractivité, d’ascendance anglo-irlandaise, fervent francophile, a aussi dévoilé le fonctionnement de la nouvelle application publique gratuite « Secrets normands ». Destinée aux visiteurs et aux amoureux de notre région, elle permet à chacun de référencer ses coups de cœur et conseils en matière de sites, initiatives, événements, astuces, producteurs locaux, balades originales… L’objectif est qu’un utilisateur puisse, grâce à la géolocalisation, savoir en un clin d’œil tout ce qu’il lui est possible de vivre le jour même ou dans les prochaines 24 heures. Tous, Greeters ou non sont invités à étoffer cette véritable malle à secrets.

Selon-vous, pourquoi les greeters se développent-ils en Normandie ?

La Normandie est une région ouverte au monde où l’on réserve aux visiteurs un accueil chaleureux.
Les locaux ont une très bonne connaissance de la ville, de son histoire, des enjeux de développement et des futurs projets qui construiront la Normandie de demain. Ils en sont fiers et souhaitent partager avec les autres leur attachement à la ville.

Qu’apportent-ils à l’attractivité touristique du territoire ?

Les greeters participent à la construction du paysage touristique actuel. C’est une valeur ajoutée. Ils répondent aux attentes de certains voyageurs qui, aujourd’hui, sont en quête d’authenticité, de rencontres avec les locaux. Ils favorisent le développement du slow tourisme dont un des fondements est la relation humaine.
Ce sont de fins connaisseurs de notre belle région, de véritables ambassadeurs. C’est pourquoi nous les invitons à dévoiler leurs secrets sur notre plateforme Secrets Normands pour les partager avec les visiteurs. Secrets Normands est un internet de séjour innovant qui permet aux visiteurs géolocalisés en Normandie de découvrir toutes les offres touristiques en temps réel ainsi que les Secrets : des bons plans, des conseils et des recommandations proposés par les Normands. Désormais, c’est au tour des greeters d’ajouter, en ligne, les pépites de leurs territoires !

Quel rôle les destinations greeters peuvent-elle jouer dans la stratégie du CRT ?

Secrets Normands est la plateforme idéale de partage avec nos visiteurs. Le Comité Régional de Tourisme de Normandie a pour objectif de mobiliser les Normands autour de ce projet pour qu’ils deviennent pleinement prescripteurs touristiques de la Région. Il est donc logique d’inviter les greeters à s’approprier cet outil fédérateur.
Dans sa démarche orientée développement durable, le CRT Normandie met l’accent sur un « slow tourisme » qualitatif plutôt que la promotion d’un « tourisme de masse », approche de consommation plébiscitée par les nouvelles générations. Les greeters ont donc un rôle à jouer dans la valorisation de l’offre touristique normande.

Michael Dodds

Michael Dodds est le nouveau directeur du comité régional du tourisme (CRT) de Normandie.
Originaire d’outre-Manche, Michael Dodds a oeuvré durant plusieurs années en tant que consultant spécialisé dans le tourisme. Sa dernière expérience en tant que consultant est d’ailleurs la réalisation du schéma régional de développement touristique pour la Normandie.
Michael Dodds est également le Directeur Général de l’Agence Normandie Attractivité, créée le 23 juin 2017.
Après un déjeuner sur la plage, les 15 Greeters Havrais ont accompagné Michael Dodds, sa famille et leurs collègues des réseaux normands dans des balades coup de cœur à travers Le Havre.

Les greeters de Normandie…

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This